Town of Petawawa’s Fire Ban remains in place until further notice


Posted on Thursday August 9, 2018

Zero Tolerance policy in effect: those found in contravention of ban will be fined.

Petawawa – The current Fire Ban for the Town of Petawawa will remain in effect until further notice.

In addition to the restriction on open flame burning, the fire ban for Petawawa now includes the use of fireworks, sparklers, firecrackers and other incendiaries.

A Zero Tolerance policy is in effect and those found in contravention of the Fire Ban will be fined.

On July 24th at 12:01 a.m., the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF) expanded the restricted fire zone to include Zones 24, 25 and 26 which includes areas south of the French River.

This includes Parry Sound, from Georgian Bay east to the Quebec border, including Algonquin Park, and from Renfrew to Mattawa, of which Petawawa is included.

Under a Restricted Fire Zone, on crown land, the use of portable charcoal equipment (BBQs and hibachis) are prohibited.

We continue to monitor the fire indices on a daily basis and are working closely with MNRF.

We thank all of the residents of the Town of Petawawa and visitors for their continued cooperation during this Fire Ban.

For Fire Ban updates, please call 613-687-5536.